The Way of Assisi

Tomorrow, I am leaving the archaeological dig to begin another pilgrimage that I heard about while walking on the Via Francigena last month.  This new pilgrimage is called The Way of Assisi, and links together many shorter, local pilgrimage routes into one longer one leading to Assisi, the town whose name would later be given to St. Francis.  This route will take about two weeks to complete and is supposed to be largely undertaken through forests and fields, away from big towns and busy roads.

I am very much looking forward to my second pilgrimage experience, feeling a bit better prepared now that I’ve already had a taste of what to expect on the Via Francigena last month.  I’m not sure how often internet will be available, but I will do my best to update the blog on a regular basis.

Remember that there are still a few hours left to enter the A Pilgrim’s Progress contest for tasty, local Italian products.  Just ‘Like’ our Facebook page by using the button on the right by noon, Eastern Standard Time, today to be entered into the random drawing.

~ by pminnig on October 8, 2011.

One Response to “The Way of Assisi”

  1. Wow, I was planing to go to Italy this July but not make it. And saw a movie shot in Italy tonight, read this article now makes me want to go there more……

Leave a comment